Country Music

Nothing can give me the feels like country music. 

I spend many a sink load of dishes with country music. I love the depth of the lyrics, the guitar, the imprint it has left on my soul since I first fell in love with it. My current fave is still “Humble and Kind” by Tim McGraw, but a close second is “She’s Got a Way With Words” by Blake Shelton. The latter is definitely not as meaningful and profound a song, but it’s just catchy and sort of endearing. Also, Blake Shelton

There are scores of country songs that are cathartic for me. At the moment, they’re mostly the ones about missing loved ones because that’s what I relate with most right now. “I Drive Your Truck” by Lee Brice and “You Should Be Here” by Cole Swindell are great. 


This reminds me of my guitarist mama

I used to sing along to songs constantly. As a rule, if a song I knew came on the radio, I would belt it out. It made me feel free and alive and intoxicated. I still do sometimes, but that part of me has changed a little in the last few years. In general, I’ve become a bit more of a listener and a bit less of a vocalizer. Not that I used to be rude and cut people off before, but I’m more reflective and less chatty now. Part of this is about my mom, but I think my husband also taught me to be this way. He has this quiet, reassuring demeanor. It’s very calming. One way that he’s so good for me is that he doesn’t get riled up and explode when he’s angry. He stays really cool and matter of fact, which in turn helps me remain calm and collected. If he were the type to yell and hurl insults at me, I would react very differently. Fighting fire with fire, we would likely burn the house down. See all the impressive insights you can come up with when you listen to this stuff?

Speaking of houses, I’ll throw a couple final suggestions in here: “The House that Built Me” by Miranda Lambert and “Burning House” by Cam.

My people! Whoever you are, wherever you are, whyever you are reading this, if you haven’t yet (or if you’ve only tried a couple times. I think it took me fourteen tries) give country music a chance! If you’re in the NY/NJ area, check out 94.7 NASH FM (This may or may not be the only country station in New York). Or maybe go find someone (even if that means doing some traveling!) who loves it and can enlighten you and enjoy it with you. It just may change your life.

Leave a Reply

