Hitting the Gym

Hello, my loyal readers! I’m sure you all feverishly await my blog posts each week and keep every detail of my entries logged away, so you surely remember me posting on May 17th that I was planning to join my local gym.

Well….I did! June 1st. I figured I should just do one month even though it’s more pricey, because I don’t know what my schedule is going to be like in July and August (read “I don’t know who/how often someone might be able to watch my kids”). T is going to be cutting down on daycare time so we can save some dinero.

So! I’ve worked out on average twice a week since I started. Most times with my sister in law. But recently, I gathered up my courage and went alone. I was so nervous! I was all jittery and my stomach was tying itself in knots. Going to the gym is NOT in my comfort zone. I’m a total newb; I only know how to use a handful of the machines (my sister in law showed me around a few times). I sat in my car for a minute, took a few deep breaths, and gave myself a pep talk:

What’s the worst that could happen?

Hm…

The worst that could happen is I look like an idiot.

Eh. I can live with that.

I extracted myself from my vehicle. Once I got up there, I think I managed to get away with looking semi familiar with the gym environment. I was repeating this mantra to myself: “Diane, the most important thing is you have to LOOK like you know where you’re going and what you’re doing. You can do this. You can fool them.”

I still have a long way to go. I think I’m gonna do a couple quick Google searches: “Gym machines how to”, “Discovering muscles you didn’t know existed”, “Avoiding embarrassment at the gym”. You know, the real important stuff.

Leave a Reply

