Me Before You

I’m eating dessert before dinner (as usual) thinking about my little ladies’ day out (nothing a little girl time can’t fix). We treated ourselves to a real live movie.

“A movie? What’s that?” – most moms

I am recently, FINALLY getting around to going to theaters again. We also got pedicures complete with massage and exfoliation! My calves are so soft!

So, we watched this movie called Me Before You – you may have heard of it? Causing a bit of a stir in some parts. I’ll give you my little review.

***SPOILER ALERT***

This adorable, bright spirited, warm hearted, incredibly expressive girl (Louisa, played by Emilia Clarke) lands a job as a caretaker for a young man (William, played by Sam Claflin) recently paralyzed from the neck down because of an accident. She comes from a humble family and she has been supporting her parents financially for some time. She takes the job because she’ll take any job, really. Will is a strikingly handsome, witty man who is bitter about his injury and resultant resignation to his wheelchair. He is depressed and hardly breaks so much as a smile for the longest time; that is until quirky, friendly Clarke finally gets through to him.

I expected a sappy, happily ever after love story…maybe a few rainbows and unicorns… Boy, was I wrong.

The man kills himself. We don’t see how, but we witness him making arrangements with some company which aids people in ending their lives. At the end of the movie, his parents and his new love interest stay by his side and say their last good byes.

I cannot come to terms with this. Perhaps it’s my upbringing. My faith (and my gut, really) tells me that suicide is not the answer and that the way we come into this world and the way we leave this world are things that should be left in God’s hands (well, this is tricky. I don’t think God actually plans each person’s death specifically. But I definitely don’t think we should have the opinion that we are only responsible and answerable to ourselves and that we can decide when we don’t want to exist anymore). Every single person’s life is infinitely precious and irreplaceable. Each person leaves a unique, meaningful imprint on the world that absolutely no one else can.

I can’t put my finger on what message the creator was intending for this movie (originally a book). I suppose she wasn’t trying to cater to the hopeless romantics, the so-called idealistic audience members…or then again, maybe she was? Maybe in her mind, this was the most romantic thing Will could have done – to allow Louisa a better life, even through his death. Regardless, it just doesn’t feel right to me for him to be gone; for him to just end it. I wanted them to grow old together! They would have been beautiful.

I couldn’t help putting myself in the place of Will’s mother. What would I do if it were my son? If my son were asking me in all sincerity to help him end his life? If he showed and explained just how deeply he was suffering (physically, mentally, emotionally) and how unfulfilled he felt; how disappointing his very existence was. Will says in the movie he’s been “waking up every morning already wishing it was over”. It almost makes me sick to even imagine having to wrestle with this decision in my own family. -end of serious bit-

If you’re reading this, I assume you’ve seen the movie (or never intended to, so didn’t mind the spoiled ending). If you’re like me, and you were left with a deep and profound void in your heart that could only be filled by Will (or at least Sam in one role or another) finding true happiness, I have good news! There is a movie out there that will do just that! (Ok, there are probably several, but I’m not the biggest movie watcher…I haven’t even seen The Hunger Games – For shame!, I know). It’s a few years old. “Love, Rosie”, it’s called. So cute. Total redemption for me.

2 thoughts on “Me Before You

  1. I haven’t seen the movie yet but I just finished the book. I read a lot but this one made me bawl my eyes out. It wasn’t what I was expecting at all. I’m excited to see the movie now and compare them and see what was left out of the movie that was in the book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

