A Little Bit More About Me

These are the days, Diane.

So, what exactly goes into my days? Well, since you asked, currently my days are rather simple, rather ordinary. Nothing all too remarkable happens around here.

I’m an elementary school teacher by profession, but I have been at home since the end of the 2014 school year, at which time I was pregnant with my daughter, Y. Born in October 2014, it’s as if she came straight out of Heaven. She is lighthearted, sweet, intelligent, and joyful. Her awkward little toddle and eager giggles melt me to pieces. She’s my perfect little angel girl. (Am I allowed to rave about my own kids?)

Then there’s my son. I wouldn’t call him my perfect little angel son. But I truly love him, I do! He’s just different. He is unique. T will be 3 this month. He is smart like his sister. He’s also strong-willed, stubborn, silly, and loving. We are working on being “gentle”. He loves his baby sister, but he is still figuring out how to show it properly. Little by little, he is improving! Slowly but surely, there is less pushing and grabbing, and more hugging and sharing. It is so lovely to watch. Also, what a relief! I wasn’t sure how much more I could handle. Things were getting intense. I was “losing it” a little too often.

Lastly, I have to mention bedtime. Ever since my son was 9 months old, he’s been sharing a bed with me. We tried sleep training, but that flew out the window when I started working again, and I couldn’t bear to hear my son wailing for me when I missed him so much as it was. Bedtime has become one of my favorite parts of the day. We read stories, wash up, say our prayers, and finally, (most importantly) snuggle. No matter what kind of mischief T has gotten into during the day, no matter how overexcited or “tantrum-y” he’s been, that final hour of the day is always (ok, I can’t say ALWAYS always, but about 95% of the time) calm and peaceful. He showers me with kisses and I Love Yous and rubs my arms (that’s his thing right now. Your guess is as good as mine.) until he falls asleep. It seems bedtime brings out the best in him.

What am I saying? Every step my daughter takes and every snuggle my son gives me is remarkable.

Leave a Reply

