Let the Blogging Begin

Way back when, life was simple. I didn’t have a worry in the world. All I needed was my mom, my dolls and a handful of gummy bears. And I was good. I was happy. And so that must have meant everyone was happy. Of course, being 5 years old, the spectrum of my mind didn’t reach all that far, so as far as I was concerned, all was well in the world. Ah, those were the days.

And then there was that first summer I spent out of the country. South Korea to be exact. A retreat of sorts. Recovering from my very first heartbreak, yet surprisingly and refreshingly hopeful. I met such a variety of people and they were all wonderful. I remember the spontaneous birthday party and outburst of song, and the random showering of simple gifts throughout the day. And meeting R! The most genuine, most hilarious girl I had ever met up until that point. How we sang and we laughed and we cried. Aw man, THOSE were the days.

And who could forget those couple of years I lived with the 8 people who became my best friends of all time? The most accepting, caring, and exciting bunch I’ve ever known. The house was always noisy and bustling – so different from my household growing up. Never before or since then have I ever felt more comfortable in my own skin and so fully free to express myself. And the best part was: every day was just downright FUN! Gosh, those were REALLY the days!!

It’s easy for us to look back on times in our lives that we remember as happier/easier/less stressful/more fun. Andy Bernard said in The Office, “I wish there was a way to know you’re in “The Good Ol’ Days” before you’ve actually left them.” I couldn’t have said it better myself.

Maybe THESE are the days, the ones we’ll miss. Maybe in 2 years, 5 years or 10 years, we’ll look back on these very days that we are in the midst of with that same longing in our hearts.

So, for that reason, I start this blog. This blog is a reminder to myself and my way of saying to the world that I am grateful for now. I vow to appreciate the here and now, though it’s not always easy. A couple of sub-reasons, if you will, are: 1- to give myself something to do to decompress after a long day of running around after 2 toddlers, and 2- to honor my Mother who passed away exactly one year ago, today. How exactly is this honoring my mother? Simply because I dedicate this entire blog to her and for that reason, every time I write, I will think of her. And if someone along the way is moved or tickled by something I write, I will take comfort in knowing that it is all in her name. I foresee this blog consisting of a good balance of humor (cause Lord knows we mamas need a sense of humor to keep up going) and depth (should I have any profound inspirations to share). Anyone who decides to come along for the ride, I am so happy to have you.

*EDIT* Mom passed away one year ago yesterday, November 26th. When I published this, I hadn’t yet figured out the proper time zone setting.

Leave a Reply

